Till umu.se

Schedule, Basic EU Law

Fall Semester 2017 (last updated 2017-10-05) Note: All seminars are mandatory and you must present your thoughts and work at each, with your assigned workgroup. If you miss a seminar, contact its instructor for make-up work. No student should miss more than 1-2 seminars, if any.

Day Time Room Subject Group Teacher
Part I - What is the European Union & Its Law?
            
Thu Aug 31 13-14 S311 Introduction & Registration All ESP
14-16 S311
 
Lecture 1: Understanding the European Union  All ESP
Mon Sep 04 10-12 S206 Lecture 2: Understanding the CJEU, Its Acts & Its Case Law All MD
13-15 S206 Lecture 3: Union Competences & Their Relationship to Fundamental Rights All MD
Wed Sep 06 08-10 HC104 Seminar 1*: Institutions & Legislative Processes (Positive Integration) A ESP
10-12 HC104 (*assignment due by Tue Sep 5 at 7 p.m.) B ESP
Part II - EU Law Rights & Obligations
Mon Sep 11 10-12 S418 Seminar 2*: Fundamental Rights in the EU B MD
13-15 S418 (*assignment due by Fri Sep 8 at 7 p.m.) A MD
Mon Sep 18 10-12 S206 Lecture 4: The Internal Market & Negative Integration All ESP
Thu Sep 21 08-10 UB334 Seminar 3*: Free Movement of Goods A MD
10-12 UB334 (*assignment due Wed Sep 20 at 9 a.m.) B MD
Tue Sep 26 08-10 S302 Seminar 4*: Free Movement of Persons B ESP
10-12 S302 (*assignment due Mon Sep 25 at 9 a.m.) A ESP
Mon Oct 02 10-12 S104 Lecture 5: EU Competition Law All ESP
15:00-15:30 S503 Course Council (in Law Dept Library) Reps ESP
Mon Oct 09 10-12 S304 Seminar 5*: Competition Law A ESP
13-15 S304 (*assignment due Fri Oct 06 at 3 p.m.) B ESP

Part III - Enforcing EU Law

Thu Oct 12 10-12 S206 Lecture 6: From Paper to Reality - An Overview of Enforcement All MD
Mon Oct 16 10-12 S206 Lecture 7: Remedies Before the CJEU All MD
Mon Oct 23 13-15 S505 Seminar 6*: National Remedies: Direct & Indirect Effects plus State Liability B ESP
15-17 S505 (*assignment due Fri Oct 20 at 3 p.m.) A ESP
Wed Oct 25
 
13-15 S210 Lecture 8: Summary - Putting the Pieces Together All ESP
15-16 S210 Exam Information and Q&A All ESP/MD
Fri Oct 27 9-13 Rotundan, Universum EXAM (enroll in Portalen by Oct. 12, 10 working days before the exam)
Sat Dec 16 9-13 ÖP RE-EXAM (enroll in Portalen by Dec. 4, 10 working days before the exam)

Rooms:
S*** - Samhällsvetarhuset (The Social Sciences House a.k.a Building)
BT*** - Beteendevetarhuset (The Behavioral Sciences House)
N*** - Naturvetarhuset (The Natural Sciences House)                                    Nbvh - Norra Beteendevetarhuset (The Northern Behavioral Sciences House)
MC*** - MIT-huset (House of Mathematics Information & Tech)
HC*** - Humanisthuset (The Humanities House)
ÖP - Östra paviljongerna (The Eastern Pavilions, a building of examination halls)
UB*** - Rooms above the University Library in Samhällsvetarhuset 
Rum för lärande - Room in Humanisthuset's center, glassed-in (ask!)
TA*** - Teknikhuset (The Technical Sciences House) 
S301 - The library and conference room of the Department of Law

Teachers: 
MD - Mattias Derlén, SI - Staffan Ingmanson, ESP - Elizabeth Stuart Perry


Relaterad information

Basic EU Law